

**Girl Guides of Canada** Newfoundland and Labrador Council 63 Roosevelt Ave St. Johns, NL A1A 0E8 709-726-1116 T 709-726-4045 **F** girlguides.ca/nl

Terms of Reference Awards Committee Newfoundland & Labrador Council

Mission:	Girl Guides of Canada-Guides du Canada (GGC) enables girls to be confident, resourceful and courageous, and to make a difference in the world.
Intent:	The Provincial Awards Committee, on behalf of Provincial Council, will review various award applications and forward their recommendations to Provincial Council/Executive for approval.
Accountability:	To Provincial Council
Responsibilities:	<ol> <li>Review and make timely decisions concerning award applications received from Provincial/Area/District Councils. Awards will include Provincial Awards, Provincial Trefoil Awards, and others as directed by the Provincial Commissioner, including Gold Maple Leaf, Honorary Life, Medal of Merit, Beaver, Fortitude, and Valour Awards. Forward the awards applications to the Provincial Office at least ten days in advance of the next regularly scheduled Provincial Council/Executive Council meeting.</li> <li>Provide ongoing reports and summaries, as needed, to the Provincial Commissioner and the Provincial Council. This will include information for the Annual Report and the Provincial website.</li> <li>On review of the award documentation, the committee may recommend a substitute award.</li> <li>Co-ordinate the presentation of awards at the Provincial Annual Dinner and Annual General Meeting.</li> <li>Promote awards and recognition within the Province.</li> </ol>
Membership:	<ul> <li>the Committee Chairperson will be appointed by the Provincial Commissioner for a term of three (3) years but no more than five (5) years.</li> <li>the Committee will consist of four (4) members (one of whom will be the designated secretary); new members will be selected by the Chairperson.</li> </ul>



**Term:** Committee members will serve a three (3) year term. Members who have completed their term are not eligible for re-appointment for a period of one (1) year following the end of their term.